The Garden of My Heart

 

So fleeting are the moments

that form the days that turn to years;

The bitter and the sweet

seem sometimes so well blended

 

The garden of my heart;

the garden of my dreams…

How different are the two

when left long unattended!

 

Is such soil fit for planting,

the good seed to bear it’s fruit?

Or better-suited for the thorn,

that stakes it’s claim ‘tween rock and root?

 

My fallow ground cries for the plow

too long have I protected;

The soil will yield what I’ve concealed;

the stones that I’ve neglected

 

 

Authored by: Stephen Hare

Copyright © 2005 All rights

 

 

Leave a Reply

