The Upward Call

When my heart is done with sin

with purer eyes then to see

unwitting fool that I have been

not to recognize in me

the stamp of God upon my soul

by the Spirit, God’s holy seal

mystery of the ages, Christ in me revealed!

Now waiting not for greater grace,

as though He should twice die for me

same grace of old, I now lay hold,

the grace of Calvary

Oh to know Him in His risen power!

to be His friend in suffering…

conformed to Him in the likeness of death

His life for all to bring

Now my delight, the perfect law of God

answer to my thirsting soul

the Shepherds thoughts – now my own

after another I will not go

Obeying now the upward call

grain of wheat to soils embrace,

living to die, we die to live –

that we might see the Saviors face,

that we might see the Saviors face…

written by: Stephen D Hare

Copyright © 2002

 

One Response to “The Upward Call”

Leave a Reply

